The $1,046 haircut!

Check out how cool my hubby is! πŸ™‚

The senior class president at the school we teach at, casually asked Drums one day what it would take to get him to shave his head. He had been teasing Drums about his “slicked back doo” for some time, and was wondering if he would ever change his hairstyle and shave his head. Drums replied, it would take $1,000 dollars……I feel certain you can guess what happened at this point. πŸ™‚ Yep, the senior class students and teachers at the public high school we teach at raised $1,046! Now before you start thinking we will be going on a nice vacation with that large chunk of change, it’s all going to charity. And not just any charity mind you, some of it will go to Compassion International. We have sponsored 2 kids through Compassion for years ( that means it’s been so long, I can’t remember how long it’s been!). But, the bulk of it will go to our friends of who are going to be missionaries in Thailand! The local paper even wrote a short article about Drums “hair today………gone today experience.”

I personally think the new “doo” looks great. So check out the You Tube video that a student took and posted it. I cut his hair with about 70 students looking on in his classroom. What a fun way to end the school year!

The “before” look. The infamous slicked back hair doo!

Here I am cutting his lovely locks OFF!

Here is Drums with the new doo and the student who raised all the money.

10 thoughts on “The $1,046 haircut!

  1. Drum looks great either way! When I first saw him on photo letting his kids duck tape him on a tree I thought he’s a great dad; Now seeing him with his students and letting them “cut his hair” spoke even more of his character – and for all of you in your family who decided to donate it to compassion and Thailand missionsaries – these makes me teary eyed. What a blessing!

  2. Sandy, please don’t take this the wrong way, but HUBBA HUBBA! LOL. I think your husband looks very nice with his new doo and I love that he was such a great sport too! And WTG for raising all that $$ for a wonderful cause.

    He might just find that his new doo is nice and cool for the summer and keep it that way. I think he should do this challenge again next year!

  3. Your students obviously love both of you!!! What a blessing to have the two of you teaching the next generation!!!

    Your husband is a good sport!!!

  4. Sandy, you will probably laugh at me, but when I went to bed last night I kept worrying that my comment may have offended you. In our house we say Hubba Hubba when someone looks nice. I am sorry if I offended you by saying that.

  5. Thank you Sandy! As a christian I need to think before I “speak” or write if you will in this case. I appreciate your sense of humor too. I think we’re alot alike in that area!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

