Dump Cake – Works for Me Wednesday

wfmwbannerkristen

For more Works for Me Wed. Click Here

This is such a simple and VERY delicious dessert, and in this fast paced world, this homemade treat is a winner in prep time and taste. That WORKS FOR ME! 🙂

Dump Cake……I know the mental image of a cake with that name is not real appealing.  However, this quick dessert is a lifesaver when you haven’t had time to bake something, but don’t want to spend money to purchase a store bought dessert.  Dump Cake is your answer.

I made this for a friend the other day and she asked me for the recipe for the “cherry cobbler like thing.”  When I told her it was called “dump cake”  my 14 year old son who overheard the conversation replied, “you mean like going to take a………..”   Oh never mind I won’t go there when talking about food!  I am really much to immersed in the life of 8th grade boys!

Regardless, the facts are it’s yummy and E-A-S-Y!

2465426903_e114ed12da

First DUMP one can of crushed pineapple ( I drain about half of the juice) in a greased 13 x 9 pan

Second DUMP and spread carefully cherry pie filling on top of the pineapple

Third DUMP yellow cake mix on the cherry pie filling and spread over the filling

Fourth DUMP one stick of melted butter over the yellow cake mix

Bake at 400 for 40-45 min. until cake mix is “set”

Dab a little ice cream or whipped topping over it, serve on a fancy plate and friends will think you worked so hard to make this yummy dessert!

I know it sounds a bit strange and you think how will this all turn into something delicious.  But I have been bringing this simple dessert to pot lucks and other occasions for years and it is ALWAYS a hit!

~ENJOY!~

blc142

15 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for posting this. I really like this cake. I lost the recipe (I know it’s super easy, but I was afraid I’d forgotten an ingredient).

  2. Yummy, thanks Sandy!! I made a modified version of this yesterday and it was fantastic. I didn’t have a box cake, so I improvised and just threw used a vanilla cake recipe (dry ingrediants only). I did take a teaspoon of vanilla and evenly drop it over the cherries before dumping the dry ingrediants, however.

  3. Yummy, thanks Sandy!! I made a modified version of this yesterday and it was fantastic. I didn’t have a box cake, so I improvised and just threw used a vanilla cake recipe (dry ingrediants only). I did take a teaspoon of vanilla and evenly drop it over the cherries before dumping the dry ingrediants, however.

  4. If you want to prepare tasty camping meals with ease on your next camping trip then Dutch oven recipes for camping is the answer to all your questions. Egg bakes, roats or stews, cobbler or other sweet desserts and various other dishes are some of the delicacies you can prepare with your dutch oven. Now you can cook and eat those dishes that were only your desires in previous camping trips. .

    Have a look at all of the most popular content at our new blog site
    <'http://www.caramoanpackage.com/

Leave a comment